To Top

Church of God’s women are the warriors for the helpless

Since they have existed, women of the Church of God have been champions for the weak and warriors for the helpless. One of the greatest benefactors of women’s ministries has been The Church of God Smoky Mountain Children’s Home in Sevierville, Tenn.

Church of God Division of Care Executive Administrator Dr. Donnie Smith describes The Home as, “the anchor for all care and benevolent ministries dating back to its origin in 1920.” The Women’s Ministry and The Children’s Home partnership spans decades and has touched thousands of children. On Monday, July 23 of the recent Church of God General Assembly, an award brunch was held to honor the tremendous efforts of state Women’s Discipleship presidents for not only The Smoky Mountain Children’s Home, but International Women With A Mission project for Haiti.

“We simply cannot do this kind of ministry alone, but something amazing happens when we come together to help a child,” was the reflection of Dr. John Sweet of The Children’s Home in honoring the support for this assembly period. First Place winners from various state categories were: Tennessee – Jackie Walker; Kentucky – Debbie Ivester; Mississippi – Betty Mirkovich; Arkansas – Donna Higgins; New Jersey – Wanda Rabon; and North Central – Kathleen Cooper.

Women’s Discipleship Coordinator Lorna Gosnell shared her appreciation for the cooperation among Women’s Discipleship to accomplish so much more than could have been done alone. Jim Hudson spoke passionately about his appreciation for the WWAM Haiti project; funding to complete an orphanage, widows center and medical clinic.

Former International Women’s Ministry President Peggy Culpepper expressed appreciation for Dr. John and Joan Gregory for their support of the Haiti Project. WWAM project winners from various state categories were North Georgia – Sharon Baker; South Carolina – LaQuita Propes; Eastern North Carolina– Ina Boling; Indiana – Carla Robinson; Missouri – Cathy Gillum; Alaska – Alice Fischer; Northern-New England – Judy Page; New Mexico – Diane Morgan; and overall winner Eastern North Carolina – Ina Boling.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

10 + 9 =